site stats
Thursday, May 26, 2022
HomeLatest NewsFlamenco Carmen Linares and Maria Pages, Princess of Asturias for the Arts

Flamenco Carmen Linares and Maria Pages, Princess of Asturias for the Arts

Singer Carmen Linares and dancer and choreographer Maria Pages have been awarded the 2022 Princess of Asturias Prize for the Arts, the institution announced on Thursday. The two women succeed performance artist Marina Abramović, who received the same award in 2021.

The foundation’s jury emphasized that Carmen Linares and Maria Pages “combine the spirit of several generations who, thanks to the respect for tradition and the depth of flamenco’s roots, know how to modernize and adapt its essence to the modern world, elevating it. especially in the category of general art. In addition, with their work, “both opened the way for resonance not only artistic, but also social and became an example of work, talent and dedication for future generations.”

In 2004, flamenco was recognized by the Prince of Asturias Prize for the Arts, awarded to guitarist Paco de Lucía, which the jury called “one of the most promising musical genres of our time and an ongoing and unique artistic event”.

Each Prize of the Princess of Asturias is equipped with a sculpture by Joan Miro – the symbol of the award, a diploma, a badge and a sum of money in the amount of 50,000 euros.

two winners

Maria Pages was born in 1963 in Seville. Pages “has the genius of baile, we all know and proclaim it. But there is something else in this woman: she dances, and the dance sets everything around her in motion. Neither the air nor the earth after the dance of Maria Pages is not the same,” said José Saramago.

Sevilec was the first dancer in the troupe of Mario Maya, in the Spanish Ballet of Rafael Aguilar and in the Spanish Ballet of Maria Rosa. In 1990 he created his own troupe, where he organized many shows and with whom, according to critics, he updated the forms of flamenco dance, mixing tradition and modernity.

He has collaborated with artists such as Mikhail Baryshnikov, Carlos Saura, Tamara Rojo – 2005 Prince of Asturias Prize for the Arts – or Angel Corella. He has also received the Leonid Massine Prize (Italy, 2004), the Madrid Community of Culture Prize (2007), the Andalusian Medal (2011), the Spanish Gold Medal of Merit in the Fine Arts (2014), the Prize for the Best International Dance Show (Chile, 2015), Medal of the City of Seville (2018) and Critics’ Award of the Seville Biennale (2018) and many other awards.

Carmen Linares was born in 1951 in Linares, Jaén. He began singing in companies such as Paco Romero or Carmen Mora, as well as in popular Madrid tablaos such as Torres Bermejas and Café de Chinitas. According to experts, she is one of the most important voices in flamenco singing, along with such names as Enrique Morente, Camarón or La Niña de los Paynes. She was the first flamenco singer to perform at Lincoln Center in New York.

Linares is the only flamenco woman to win the Spanish National Music Award in the performance category (2011). He has also received the French Record Academy Award (1991) and the National Association of Flamenco Art Critics Award (1995), the Andalusian Silver Medal (1998), the Fine Arts Gold Medal (2006), the Madrid Gold Medal (2019). ). ), Berklee College of Music Master of Mediterranean Music Award (USA, 2019), Terras sem Sombra International Award from the Portuguese Festival of the same name (2019) and Meridian of the Andalusian Institute of Women (2022) and others. In 2011 he received the Lifetime Music Award from the Spanish Academy of Music and in 2012 he was awarded the Medal of Honor at the Granada International Festival of Music and Dance.


*The article has been translated based on the content of If there is any problem regarding the content, copyright, please leave a report below the article. We will try to process as quickly as possible to protect the rights of the author. Thank you very much!

*We just want readers to access information more quickly and easily with other multilingual content, instead of information only available in a certain language.

*We always respect the copyright of the content of the author and always include the original link of the source article.If the author disagrees, just leave the report below the article, the article will be edited or deleted at the request of the author. Thanks very much! Best regards!


Most Popular

Recent Comments

%d bloggers like this: