site stats
Thursday, May 26, 2022
HomeLatest NewsG7 agreed to veto Russian oil and reduce energy dependence

G7 agreed to veto Russian oil and reduce energy dependence

After the G27 failed to agree on a Russian veto over oil, G7 leaders reiterated this Sunday. its commitment to reduce dependence on Russian energy in retaliation for the war in Ukraine, according to a joint statement released by the White House. “We are committed to gradually eliminating our dependence on Russian energy, which includes elimination or prohibition of oil imports Russia,” said the G7, made up of the United States, Germany, Canada, France, Italy, Japan and the United Kingdom.

The leaders of the seven powers reiterated that the transition would be made “on time” and “organized” over time so that the world would find alternative supply routes. This statement of intent was made after the countries of the European Union (EU) did not reach a consensus on a ban on oil imports from Russia due to the war in Ukraine due to the difficulties that increases for some partners their dependence on Moscow oil. The United States, which is much less than Europe dependent on Russian energy, already in March announced a ban on the import of oil, gas and coal From Russia. The G7 meeting, which was held virtually, was attended by President of Ukraine Volodymyr Zelensky.

Zelensky reaffirmed his intention to defeat Russian forces and explained that Ukraine depends on its international partners, in particular the G7, for sufficient military resources and for the Ukrainian economy to recover from the devastation of the war, the White House said. In response, the leaders of the G7reaffirmed their commitment to the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraineas well as their struggle for a prosperous and democratic future.

After the meeting, the US announced sanctions against 27 directors of the Russian bank Gazprombank, which is the main route used by European Union (EU) member states to purchase gas from Russia. Washington also took action against the Russian TV channels Channel One, Rossiya and NTV, against the weapons manufacturer Promtekhnologiya, and against seven shipping companies.

telematic summit This was announced on Friday by the government of Germany, the country that chairs the G7. One of her tasks was to strengthen the solidarity of the G7 with Ukraine on the occasion of the so-called Victory Day, the anniversary of the capitulation of the Third Reich and the defeat of Nazism. The “Big Seven” was formerly known as the “Big Eight”. but Russia was kicked out in 2014 after the annexation of the Ukrainian peninsula of Crimea.


*The article has been translated based on the content of If there is any problem regarding the content, copyright, please leave a report below the article. We will try to process as quickly as possible to protect the rights of the author. Thank you very much!

*We just want readers to access information more quickly and easily with other multilingual content, instead of information only available in a certain language.

*We always respect the copyright of the content of the author and always include the original link of the source article.If the author disagrees, just leave the report below the article, the article will be edited or deleted at the request of the author. Thanks very much! Best regards!


Most Popular

Recent Comments

%d bloggers like this: