hit tracker
Sunday, March 3, 2024
HomeLatest NewsGoogle warns of its latest news: it will delete these accounts from...

Google warns of its latest news: it will delete these accounts from the end of the year

Date: March 3, 2024 Time: 18:29:11

News on Google. The search engine has just announced that from the end of this year it will begin to delete some of the accounts that are not being used. The company is carrying out maintenance tasks to strengthen the security of users and the first step will be to eliminate part of them.

Which accounts is Google going to remove this year?

The company has announced that at the end of this year they will begin to eliminate all those accounts that have been inactive for at least two years, a measure that will not affect institutions or educational institutions.

Google has assured that it has “invested in technology and tools” to protect its users from security threats, such as ‘spam’ or ‘ransomware’, as explained in a statement.

This is how the news from Google will appear to you

However, keep in mind that if an account has not been used for a long period of time, it is more likely to be compromised, as its owners may not have installed two-factor authentication.

What’s more, after carrying out an internal analysis, it has concluded that abandoned accounts are “at least ten times less likely than active accounts to have two-step verification configured,” as can be read in this statement.

To Prevent These Accounts From Being Compromised, It Has Announced An Update To Its Usage Policies And Has Commented From This 2023 You Can Delete Those Google Accounts That Have Not Been Used Or Have Not Registered Session Unique During the last two years

What services will you delete Google accounts from?

This measure -which will not affect the accounts of organizations or educational institutions- will affect users of personal accounts in Google Workspace services, that is, Gmail, Docs, Drive, Meet, Calendar; as well as YouTube and Google Photos.

In any case, Google has commented that it is “going to implement this slowly and carefully, well in advance” and that it will take a phased approach, starting with those that were created and not used again.

He has also said that, before deleting an account, there were several notifications during the months before the deletion, both to his access and recovery emails.

On the other hand, it has clarified that, to maintain an active Google account, it is only necessary to have recently logged in or to have registered some type of activity, such as reading or sending an email, having used Google Drive, viewed a YouTube video or downloaded an app through Google Play.

An account from which a query has been made through your Browser or logged in with Google to log in to another third-party application or service will also be considered active.

* This website provides news content gathered from various internet sources. It is crucial to understand that we are not responsible for the accuracy, completeness, or reliability of the information presented Read More

Puck Henry
Puck Henry
Puck Henry is an editor for ePrimefeed covering all types of news.
RELATED ARTICLES

Most Popular

Recent Comments