hit tracker
Wednesday, June 19, 2024
HomeSportsPotapova beat Kostyuk again: the Ukrainian again did not shake her hand

Potapova beat Kostyuk again: the Ukrainian again did not shake her hand

Date: June 19, 2024 Time: 01:34:20

Potapova beat Kostyuk again: the Ukrainian again did not shake her hand

Alexander Nasonov June 20, 2023, 20:05 Moscow time Audio version: Your browser does not support the audio element.

Anastasia defeated Marta for the second time this season, who regularly refuses to greet the Russians after matches.

On Tuesday June 20, at the WTA-250 grass tournament in Birmingham, which serves as one of the preparation stages for Wimbledon, the first round singles matches come to an end. There is only one Russian woman in the main draw, and that is racket number 21 in the world, Anastasia Potapova. The 22-year-old athlete received the fourth seed at the tournament: only the Roland Garros champions of different years Barbora Kreichikova (Czech Republic) and Elena Ostapenko (Latvia), as well as the Pole Magda Linett, are above. Potapova’s opponent in the first round was Ukrainian Marta Kostyuk, who is ranked 34th in the world.

This season, Kostyuk has repeatedly crossed paths with Russian and Belarusian tennis players on the courts. However, he stubbornly refuses to shake their hands. The Ukrainian also played with Potapova, but she did not achieve success. In the “thousand” in Miami, the Russian woman turned out to be stronger in the second round match – 6:1, 6:3. And at Roland Garros, a generally unique incident occurred: Marta refused to shake hands with three Russian tennis players in one day.

How did Kostyuk explain his position? “Some people decided that for some reason I should change my position and that what is happening in Ukraine for some reason suddenly ended. Although I am sure that after everything is over, I will continue to do this, ”she quotes TSN.ua.

Related Materials

“I was not expecting this”. Ukrainian fans booed Kostyuk at Roland Garros

Potapova, commenting on Kostyuk’s refusal to shake hands after the match in Miami, had this to say. “Martha didn’t shake my hand? She expected this. Obviously, this is her choice, ”the Daily Mail quotes the athlete’s words. A little later, Anastasia told how she had changed her relationship with the Ukrainians. “Now she has changed a bit. Martha and I were very close. But unfortunately, the person decided to change his mind, and not just about me. Without reason. It is not for me to judge her, it is her choice. And I respect her choice. And if it’s easier for her, then I accept it. I am neither hot nor cold from this, ”she said in an interview with the Championship.

Related Materials

Exclusive

“Now Spartak is known everywhere.” Potapova wrestled with tough questions

At the reporting meeting, Potapova immediately found herself in the position to catch up. The Russian woman broke serve to her in the first game, after Kostyuk converted the third break point. In the third game, Anastasia nearly lost serve to her again, but she saved a double break point. Potapova was able to correct the situation only in the tenth game, bringing the opponent’s serve to zero – 5:5. After that, the tennis players took a game on the court and proceeded to a tiebreaker. After two mini-breaks from each participant (4: 4), the Russian had an excellent chance to win a set by making a third mini-break, but with the score at 6: 4 she missed a double set point in favor. her. – 6:6. In addition, the next two draws also belonged to the Ukrainian, who finally won the tiebreaker with a score of 8:6.

In the second set, the opponents played confidently on their serve for a long time, so that no one had break points. Also, Potapova was able to bring her games to zero twice, but Kostyuk, never. So they reached the score 5:5. In the 11th game, the Russian woman got a double break point and used it immediately, and in the 12th game, serving for one set, she recovered the break point and restored the balance in the match – 7: 5.

In the third set, as in the second game, there were no breaks at first. After the fifth game, Kostyuk took a medical break with a score of 3: 2 in his favor – he had problems with his left leg. The turning point came in the seventh game, in which the Ukrainian committed two double faults. After the second of them, Potapova went to a break point, and then used it – 4: 3.

And with the score 5:4, the Russian came out to serve for the match. Anastasia won a double match point, but missed it by hitting a double. After “exactly” Potapova played a break point, then missed the third match point, but the fourth was realized, having won a decided victory: 6: 7, 7: 5, 6: 4. After the match, Kostyuk , as in the first match, he did not shake his opponent’s hand. She and Potapova took turns thanking the judge in the tower, after which they dispersed to their halves of the court.

This is how Potapova beat Kostyuk for the second time in a year. In the second round, she will play American Cathy McNally, who in the first round beat her compatriot Lauren Davis (LD)-6: 1, 7: 5. The tournament in Birmingham will end on June 25. Apart from Anastasia, there are no other Russians on her grid, but they are present in good numbers on the tournament grid in Berlin. So, Daria Kasatkina sensationally lost to her compatriot Elina Avanesyan.

Related Materials

What about Kasatkina? Daria missed a double match point and lost sensationally to a lucky loser

* This website provides news content gathered from various internet sources. It is crucial to understand that we are not responsible for the accuracy, completeness, or reliability of the information presented Read More

Puck Henry
Puck Henry
Puck Henry is an editor for ePrimefeed covering all types of news.
RELATED ARTICLES

Most Popular

Recent Comments