“The main question is: where did the referee see the offside?” Analysis of the disallowed goal against Spartak in the derby
May 21, 2023 05:43 pm UTC Audio Version: Your browser does not support the audio element.
Ignatov sent the ball into the CSKA goal, but Karasev’s team did not count the goal. Did the referee do the right thing?
Spartak and CSKA cut each other in the main game of the 28th round of the RPL. In the first half, the refereeing team annulled the rojiblanco goal.
In the middle of the first half, Spartak played a good combination, which was completed by Mikhail Ignatov. The rojiblancos midfielder jumped one-on-one with Igor Akinfeev and lobbed the ball over the CSKA goalkeeper with a paddle. True, the side referee immediately raised the flag and recorded an offside position. The main referee Sergey Karasev immediately made it clear that his assistants would review this moment.
In the freeze frame, one gets the feeling that Ignatov’s knee is in an offside position. However, this cannot be stated with absolute certainty, based on the location of the camera. Additionally, the RPL currently does not have a system for determining offside lines. One way or another, Karasev listened to the audience and showed with a characteristic gesture that Ignatov was “out of the game.”
True, it is worth noting that Alexander Sobolev could have been offside a few seconds earlier. It was he who gave the transfer, which in the end will not be an assist. One can only guess what moment the referees saw.
This episode was analyzed by football referee Igor Fedotov: “The main question is where Karasev’s assistant recorded the offside. If he fixed it on Sobolev, then this is correct. He waited for the end of the episode, raised the flag: everything is fine. If he saw Ignatov offside, then this is a mistake, since he lost the line of attack. And then Spartak scored cleanly.
I think he saw it in Sobolev. But the VAR in any case could not annul the decision of the assistant, since here they did not have 100% evidence that there was no offside.”
How Spartak played against CSKA under Karasev’s refereeing
“This has not been tried since the days of the bandits.” Spartak beat CSKA just once under Karasev
By the way, a few minutes later the ball was in the Spartak goal. Alexander Selikhov saved a long-range shot, but Anton Zabolotny was the first to finish. Lateral raised the flag again, and then this decision was confirmed by Karasev’s assistants, who are in charge of working on VAR. This time the referees’ discussion was shorter.
According to Fedotov, Karasev’s team made the right decision: “As for Zabolotny’s disallowed goal, the penalty line helps here. There really was an offside, that’s right.”
You can follow the derby on our live:
The heat in the derby “Spartak” – CSKA! Two goals were scored, the judges disallowed two more! LIVE